black mtn logo 2012 120

Chummy Broomhall Cup logo

The Bates Bobcats held onto the Chummy Cup for another year by winning at the Colby College Winter Carnival on January 26th. The Broomhall Cup is gChummy Broomhall Photoiven to the top Maine Collegiate Nordic Ski team based on the combined men's and women's scores in the Classical Races. The Bobcats won the championship in 2012, and the 2013 Championship was the third Chummy Cup victory by Bates College, having also won the inaugural event in 2007.

Individual women results had Elmore, Vermont native Kaitlynn Miller, skiing for Bowdoin College, capturing the gold with a time of 18.03.4 in the 5K Classical race. Bates teammates Hallie Grossman and Jane McLarney joined Miller on the podium with times of 18.16.3 and 18.50.9.

Eirik Fosnaes of Hovik, Norway and skiing for the University of Maine at Presque Isle won the Men's Classical race, finishing the 10K course in 26.17.5. Jordan Buetow, hailing from Anchorage, Alaska captured the silver for Bates College at 26.22.0 while Colby's Jake Barton won the bronze at 26.36.5.

The event, put together by the Maine Winter Sports Center (MWSC), is named in honor of Rumford native, 10th Mountain Division veteran, two-time Olympian and the figurehead of the Chisholm Ski Club, (one of the nations oldest and most active ski clubs), Wendall "Chummy" Broomhall.

The MWSC is a non-profit, economic development company that operates with sustained funding from the Portland-based Libra Foundation. Our mission is to re-establish skiing as a lifestyle in Maine. For more information on the Maine Winter Sports Center, Black Mountain of Maine or the Chisholm Ski Club, visit the Maine Winter Sports Center website at www.mainewsc.org.

View Women's Results

View Men's Results

View Team Results

Past Chummy Broomhall Cup Champions
2007 Bates
2008 Colby
2009 Colby
2010 Colby
2011 Colby
2012 Bates
2013 Bates


Chummy Broomhall Cup logo

The Bates Bobcats, coached by Becky Woods, matched Colby College's record 4th consecutive Chummy Broomhall Cup at their annual winter carnival at Black Mountain on January 16, 2015. The Broomhall Cup is gChummy Broomhall Photoiven to the top Maine Collegiate Nordic Ski team based on the combined men's and women's scores in the Classical Races.

Silas Eastman of Fryeburg continued his successful skiing on the friendly courses at Black Mountain Silas Eastman - Fryeburg Academyof Maine in winning the MPA Class A High School Classical championship on Monday. The howling winds did not seem to bother Eastman as he finished the 5Km course in 13.22.2, thirty-seven seconds faster that silver medalist Dustin Ramsay of Hampden Academy. Jay Lesser of Falmouth finished in third at 14.13.8. Eastman also won the Sassi Memorial Classcial 5K back on January 26th. Despite the strong winds, the single track course held up very well for both the men's an women's race.

In that women's race, it was Emily Bland of Windham High School who took the gold with a time of 16.30.9. Bland, who finished 6th in the "all classes" Sassi race, was over a half minute faster than Mt. Emiy Bland - Windham High SchoolBlue's Sarah Wade, who finished the course in 17:02.1. Right behind Wade was Abby Popenoe of Portland High School, who won bronze with a time of 17:04.9.

The Falmouth women and men are both in first place in team points after the first day of competition. The Lady Yachtsmen have 31 points in the classical while the Portland women are second with 38 points. The Falmouth men have a solid 20-point lead over Portland and Leavitt, who are tied for second with 62 points. Competition continues on Tuesday with the Giant Slalom Races at Mt. Abram, starting at 9:00 am, and the Nordic Freestyle at Black Mountain, starting at 3:00 pm.

Thank you Volunteers